top of page
  • Writer's pictureRani

50 Things I Completely Hate in Christchurch

I don't know if I've just had an awful week, but I've been finding many things annoying lately. I've decided to blog about it because this city is a great place if we get rid of these things. I could probably go anywhere else in the country and rattle off 100 things I hate about those places really easily, but Christchurch... This is your turn.

Let's just get into it. I'm sure everyone in Christchurch will agree with me on at least one of these. Let's go.


1. Brougham Street. I don't need to say anything else about this. Brougham Street is the worst. Probably the worst stretch of State Highway in the Country


2. Riccarton Road. The worst stretch of road I've ever driven on.


3. Riccarton Mall. The dumbest place I've ever been. Worse traffic than Riccarton Road and Brougham Street together.


4. Riccarton. The only people who like Riccarton are the people who live there and I'm not even convinced they genuinely like it.


5. Avonhead. Just a few steps worse than Riccarton.


6. The wind in this city sometimes. It's awful.


7. The seasonal shifts. Winter is Summer and Summer is Winter most days.


8. The weather forecast for this weekend. What even is the point of a weekend if it's just going to rain the whole time.


9. Cyclists who are too happy to be cyclists. Grow up. Drive a car.


10. Cyclists who get annoyed with Pedestrians on shared pathways. Easy solution to this... Grow up. Drive a car.


11. The fact that it is easier to cycle in this city than it is to walk or drive around it.


12. Cyclists. Enough said.


13. The people who drive on the Avenues on a Friday or Saturday. Get a life. You're not impressing anyone.


14. The difficulty of navigating the one-way system. Whoever designed that is either an idiot or a sociopath.


15. Parking in the CBD. Awful with no exaggeration at all.


16. Driving in the CBD. It is the worst place ever.


17. The people who drive places on a rainy day. Go home. There's literally nothing for you to do in traffic on a wet day.


18. Cyclists again.


19. The drainage on most roads in the city.


20. How much we all have ignored Cathedral Square since the Earthquake.


21. Some Yammer House Bloggers. They all live here, so yeah.


22. Some activists. Don't yell at me for not joining in your protests. I have real things to do.


23. Driving on the Harbour side of the Port Hills. Marginal at best.


24. Dyers Pass at the moment. The roadworks suck.



26. C1 Espresso. Read my Recommendation Blog on them to understand why.


27. The University of Canterbury. Enough said.


28. How underappreciated Bush Inn is. I guess only Uni students, Middleton students and some people in Upper Riccarton truly get to bathe in the greatness of it.


29. Hagley Park in Autumn. Leaves are probably the worst thing to ever exist.


30. My backyard. It's a great cricket pitch apart from being the steepest hill in the city. It's a love-hate relationship.


31. This is more a general thing that I hate, but I actually hate how hard to find cologne is. It has to be easier than what it is.


32. Trying to go for a run. It's never a good time when you have to dodge cars, cones and cyclists.


33. Driving past my High School. The memories.


34. Cyclists for a third time.


35. This is a weird one, but I sorta hate the new Timezone in Riccarton. It's great, but a big no for the most part.


36. The fact that Alpine Ice is so far away from where I live.


37. The guy who nearly hit me the other week while I was crossing the road on a green man.


38. Some drivers in this city. It's a deathwish trying to do anything around a road here.


39. People who say Fendalton like Fen-doll-ton, it's spelt and said Fendalton. Those are same people who put an H at the beginning of the letter "aitch"


40. Westward expansion. We aren't the States.


41. There aren't enough Sal's Pizza places in this city. I'm being dead serious about this too.


42. This was my playing number when I played Basketball, so nothing bad should ever be attached to this number besides my skill level.


43. Trains.


44. The smell of cigarettes I get sometimes in Riccarton or the smell of burnt toast in the City around the Metro Sports Facility that they're still building.


45. The overbridge on Moorehouse Avenue. I get it, but it's an accident waiting to happen.


46. Stirling Sports. They don't even sell anything I can't get from Rebel Sports anymore.


47. How close I live to a mall. I blame my future mass weight gain on you.


48. Why is there no Burger King in Riccarton? Carlton Corner and Lincoln Road just doesn't cut it.


49. How woefully easy this list was to make.


50. Anyone in or from Canterbury that reads this and then thinks "Nah, he's wrong and I'm going to let him know about it. The Yammer House email is yammerhouse@yahoo.com. Do it. Tell me about it. I dare you. I bet you're a cyclist.


That's it for now. I could probably rattle off another 50 pretty easily.




bottom of page