top of page
  • Writer's pictureRani

The General's Address: The Wiggles Cover of Elephant by Tame Impala

In 2012, Tame Impala released a song called "Elephant" and, as an 11-year-old at the time, I was unaware of Elephant's existence. That 11-year-old would grow into a 20-year-old, as I am today, who has become familiar (to say the least) with that song. For this, I will credit and blame The Wiggles.


You see, everyone's favourite childhood band covered the song as part of Like a Version (a music cover segment on Triple J, an Australian radio station). It actually won the Hottest 100. Yes. That's right. The Wiggles have a cover of a song and it finished at the top of a chart. This song is deserving of that spot, too. It's an absolute tune and anyone who has listened to it will agree and anyone who hasn't listened to it doesn't exist.

This song is more than a cover. It is a symbol of unity. You may laugh, but please let me state my case. Tame Impala, the mastermind of Kevin Parker, is a pretty psychedelic experience for the most part and Elephant is no exception to this. The Wiggles are a group that makes music for Children and they have done this for over 20 years. How is this unity, you ask? Simple. This may be the only time 5-year-olds and adults that have dabbled in psychedelics would happily listen to a song and get a similar level of enjoyment out of it.

There might be a follow-up question that you could have from this... "Rani, have you done psychedelics? Because you definitely aren't five." The answer to that is a short and sharp "No." and you may think I undo my argument a wee bit there, but I don't. If anything, I make it better because not only are there 5-year-olds and adult psychedelic enthusiasts vibing to a song, but there are even people from outside of those groups. That's how groundbreakingly uniting this cover of "Elephant" is. Point proven.

I've gone out of my way to link in this song. You should some respect to this pure piece of art and give it a listen. We all know I'm going to. Any complaints about this song, please direct them to me. You'll very quickly find yourself on a blacklist for this blog. We will be glad to never see you again at Yammer House. You either like the song or you are wrong.


Peace.

bottom of page