top of page
  • Writer's pictureRani

Ben Simmons: The NBA's Biggest Idiot?

Well, I didn't cover this entire saga up until this point because I was busy, but what a great story it has been so far. This entire time, it seems like, for his whole career, we thought we were watching a weird romantic date between the 76ers organization and Ben, but now we've found out it's actually one of those classic rom-com movies with Adam Sandler, where he stars as Ben Simmons.


The interesting thing about the latest update is that Ben actually wants back in on Philly. It's hilarious. He's going to be bullied by every faithful sixers fan and that's entirely fair enough. They endured a life through "The Process" where their team actually sucked for years. Ben seems to have forgotten that he was a result of that for Philly. Those years of suffering and he was their man. I don't expect, nor do I want, the people of Philadelphia to take it easy on Ben. He deserves the grilling after years of sucking, followed by a few years of second-round exits, followed by him giving up and trying to chump his way out of the franchise.

Besides the grilling he genuinely deserves, I'm glad he's back for other reasons. This gives Joel and the team a genuine chance to do something this year. Ben still wants out, but he'll have to prove himself to get a trade Philly is happy with which massively helps out the sixers. I don't think Ben was winning that stand-off at all either, the man was going up against Philly. Not even just the 76ers either... He was going against all of Philly and now he has to get alongside the effort to have a chance of leaving. Great news for my sixers.


I can't wait to watch it unfold more. He's completely lost my confidence. I just hope the fans at Wells Fargo boo him. What a scumbag. He isn't even the most talked-about Australian in the league anymore, even Thunder Rookie, Josh Giddey, is ahead of him on that front.


Oh yeah, I mentioned Adam Sandler earlier. I heard he can actually shoot a deep basketball, so perhaps he wouldn't suit playing Ben Simmons in a movie.

bottom of page