top of page

The Idiots Guide To The Christchurch Bar and Club Scene

So like many other bloggers on here I am 18+ so with this comes a newfound type of outing. Bars and clubs! so long are the days of just hanging out with your friends in a park because now there are better places to go! and if you have no friends then you can go and make friends anyway! In the very short amount of time that I have spent as an 18 year old I have been to so many of these wonderful places. So here is the Idiots guide to the Christchurch Bar and club scene.

So there are really 3 main types of establishments in this little sub category of hospitality.


Bars/Pubs - Bars or Pubs are often a big Bar at the front and then some tables chairs and maybe some darts or pool tables. I like to describe it as the place that dads go after work on a Friday. They serve greased up food like chips, chicken tenders, burgers and other food in that style. Parents can often bring their kids as long as they watch them while they are there. A bar/pub I would recommend here in Christchurch would be The Bog or The Avonhead Tavern


Clubs - Clubs are for loud bass boosted music and getting drunk. Personally I don't have any experience in these places as the loud bass music tends to hurt my head a wee bit too much but I have been told by friends and other people that these places are for young adults. The age group is mostly like 18 to 25 but of course like any place there are outliers. These places usually just sell Alcohol and have no seating areas. This is a place to get up and dance. A club I would recommend here in Christchurch would be Flux or The Darkroom.


Lounge - The lounge, personally my favourite of the 3, often live music with similar pub food club drinks. I find it to be a nice balance between Bars and Clubs. The live music can be anything from Jazz to country/folk to rock music. The vibe in these places is often more chill. A Lounge here in Christchurch I would recommend would be Fat Eddies or Boo Radley's


Remember when you are out in town to be nice to your bar tenders, at any point they can water down your drink.


Anyway Thanks for reading

Until next time, Myllo

bottom of page