top of page
  • Writer's pictureRani

The General's Recommendations: Sal's Pizza

We're back with the recommendations series and after absolutely dismantling C1 Espresso and forcing the owners to sell the business, we can put down our weapons and move on to better things... like Sal's Pizza.

This place is an absolute dream of a time. They're the pinnacle of all things good food. They've (in my mind) nailed the pizza game and have taken it to another level in New Zealand. They currently hold the naming rights sponsorship spot for the Sal's National Basketball League (the basketball equivalent to Super Rugby for all those too ignorant to know already). They've become a staple in my personal life and a lot of bonds and relationships that I share with people. Sure, I've gained some weight, but this has nothing to do with how much Sal's I eat. If I eat that much Pizza Hut, I would be three times as heavy. Sal's has the authenticity of New York Pizza while also providing great and better alternatives to the absolute dog food most pizza places give you in New Zealand.

I've always said that if a pizza place can nail a Cheese Pizza, then they can do anything well, but Sal's took my expectations and threw them off a cliff because they were not ready for how good a slice of pizza could be. I was (and mostly still am) obsessed with Sal's. I wholeheartedly recommend you go and try what they have to offer if you haven't already. Whether you have to go out for lunch with the lads or your colleagues or if you're beginning to wind down after a late night, a slice of Sal's will slap you silly and make you forget everything in that moment. It has to be some of the best pizza in the world, I'm not even exaggerating when I say that.


I recommend it. You're a bum if you don't go to eat it. Put a shirt on before you do too.




bottom of page