top of page
  • Writer's pictureRani

The General's Recommendations: Benny's Barber Shop

With the sports I cover coming to a very quick end, I thought I would start something new. I'm going to start recommending places around Christchurch (where the vast majority of our audience lives) that I think you should visit. Let's start off with a personal one... Benny's Barber Shop.


I've only been twice, but Benny's Barber Shop is an absolute beaut when it comes to places you can get that absolute bird's nest of yours under control to look great and ready for a Saturday night with the lads on the strip. I have had my hair looked after by Ben, the absolute legend and, if I'm honest about it, he does better than anyone else I've ever gone to. He's someone I can definitely see myself going to for years.

I'm 100% sure the other barbers and the apprentice barbers are top-level people who, like Ben, can spin a yarn. The vibe at BBS HQ is probably the best thing I've ever seen for a business. They have a basketball hoop, so what more would you want to see? It's a place that has the exact sort of vibe for what I want should we get a Yammer House HQ someday. I cannot say just how much I recommend them, but for you caffeine-addicts out there, and yes I know you exist because I am one, they do coffee! I haven't had one myself, but the website says they have a "bloody good barista slinging coffees."


No, this is not a sponsored post and I will never go so low to sell myself out like that, but I genuinely recommend this brilliant place. Great people. Great cuts. Great yarns. What more could you want?


Oh yeah, before I forget... Jack Goodhue's old mullet is framed because he chose to get his cut there too, so it looks like Benny's Barbershop is truly some of the best. Go book a cut there now. Right now. I could think of some Yammer House bloggers who could benefit from their magic actually.






bottom of page