top of page

I Support the Anti-Glazer Protests – But They Were a Pain in the Ass

This morning Manchester United vs Liverpool was postponed due to fan protests against the Glazer family – Manchester United’s owners – which spilled onto the pitch after breaking into the stadium.


Now, to be clear, I fully support the Manchester United fans in this matter. The Glazers have been awful owners, totally neglecting the United’s infrastructure and fan base during their sixteen years in charge and stripping as much as one billion pounds out of the club in that time. Their involvement in the recent European Super League plot, which proposed to set up a closed shop at the top of the game for Europe’s richest clubs, seems to have been the straw that broke the camel’s back.


There was just one problem with this protest: it’s timing.

Demonstrators outside the ground sported flares and anti-Glazer banners

You see, I had got up at 3:30am to watch this game, and as such I was rather displeased with its non-occurrence. Bit of a waste of time getting up at all really. I mean, I’m all for any anti-Glazer protests, but this one got in my way. They could have protested in midweek, when United hosted Roma. When their host Leicester the week after next would also have been a perfectly acceptable option for my ease of viewing.


So, yeah. All power to the protesters. Glazers out. Just please confine the protests to non-Liverpool games in future, as disrupting them is inconvenient to me personally.







bottom of page